A U.S. citizen and freelance journalist, Lindsey Snell, has been detained by Turkish authorities since August 7th, the State Department confirmed today.

Snell was detained after crossing the border from Syria into Turkey and has now been charged with violating a military zone.

For several years, Snell worked as a journalist covering the Middle East and North Africa, and her reporting on both Syria and Iraq appeared on MSNBC in 2014 and 2015.

According to her Twitter profile, Snell’s work has also been used in reports by VICE, ABC News, Discovery and Yahoo News among others.

A State Department official said the U.S. government was aware of Snell’s presence in Syria and that helping her to get to a safe location was the agency’s consistent and overriding goal.

Personnel from the U.S. Mission in Turkey were in fact dispatched to the Turkey-Syria border to support Snell’s safe exit from Syria but once in Turkey, Snell was detained by Turkish authorities, the official said.

On her last post on Facebook two days earlier, Snell told an account of being kidnapped and then later released by Jabhat Fateh al Sham (or as they were then known, Jabhat al Nusra), a Syrian group known to have ties to al-Qaeda.

“Because of my unique situation, I was able to convince my captors to give me the use of a phone … which ultimately let me plan my escape, but which also let me document much of my captivity in photos and videos. (And I bet “don’t give prisoners phones!” will make it into the new Jabhat Fateh al Sham employee handbook.) It’s a crazy story. A cave prison (the previous tenant of my cell had marked his days in residence in blood on the walls), masked villains, motorcycle escapes, and disguises. I can’t wait to share the details.”