Mitch Albom and Morrie taught me about acceptance, communication, love, values, openness, and happiness.

“Tuesdays with Morrie” by Mitch Albom is a book (and movie) about acceptance, communication, love, values, openness, and happiness. Albom emphasizes the importance of forging a culture of one’s own to transcend the tyranny of popular culture, suggesting that the media are preoccupied with death, hatred, violence and depression.

Which is exactly what I discovered myself suggesting to others one I got the hang of it!

We have to escape from depression, sadness and all the other negative feelings if we are to do any good or be any good.

So where is the better culture taught to us? Where our culture does not want you to look! GOD.

“Religion is the opium of the people” is one of the most frequently paraphrased statements of German philosopher and economist Karl Marx.

So who tells us to throw out religion?

Hollywood, Marxists, Communists, you name the rest.

And personally, I am not too consumed with religion. I am a believer in Jesus Christ and the compassion, service to others, love, and goodness that he
suggests we try to learn, emulate and live.

And how do we find Jesus? There are lots of ways. One is to pick one thing that he teaches and to actually try to do it. This was easy for me because an old Vietnamese man in a hospital ASSIGNED me to be his Simon of Cyrene — so running  away seemed like cowardice would win. Which is what always happens when we ignore Jesus. Cowardice (and at least for me — evil) wins….

So because depression kills people and I am prone to depression and there is already age and neurological disorder trying to kill me I decided to invest in  some life saving effort with Jesus. After a few years of this it has occurred to me that this has promised to lead to ETERNAL life saving. Service to others can  become a longer life for ME and everyone! What a deal. And it is free. Good thing since I am poor and cheap.

Jesus talks a lot about the “show stoppers” that keep us out of the kingdom of heaven.

UNLESS you become like little children…..

It is easier to get the nose of a camel through the eye of a needle…..

Go the extra mile…..

Let the one without sin throw the first stone…..

Leave the 99 to find the lost one….

Do not be afraid….

— Everything we need to get into the Kingdom of Heaven is right at hand. It’s written down for us in snappy stories.

But there is something much more practical here. Depression sucks and has almost killed me (several times). I just don’t really want to end up like Philip  Seymour Hoffman, Robin Williams, Whitney Houston or Amy Winehouse.

I’ve been there. Almost.

When I have more than $20.oo I have a return ticket.

But it’s more than that. When I’m mowing the lawn and you come over to say hello — I want us both to be happy that you came.

That will keep us both happy and alive.

You should give it a try.


Mitch Wrote A Second Book called “have a little faith.” More on that later….


 (Those words, spoken to an advocate of sex, drugs and rock and role, changed everything)
  (Our destiny after death is clear)


Catholic Church Teaching on Human Life and Suicide:

Get God To Help With Your Problem

God, I offer myself to Thee-
To build with me
and to do with me as Thou wilt.
Relieve me of the bondage of self,
that I may better do Thy will.
Take away my difficulties,
that victory over them may bear witness
to those I would help of Thy Power,
Thy Love, and Thy Way of life.
May I do Thy will always!
Thank you, God, Amen!


 (AGED 19)




Worrying claim: Professor Patrick Pullicino said doctors had turned the use of a controversial ¿death pathway¿ into the equivalent of euthanasia of the elderly

Worrying claim in Britain: Professor Patrick Pullicino said doctors had turned the use of a controversial ‘death pathway’ into the equivalent of euthanasia of the elderly



“The Catholic Guide to Depression,” by Aaron Kheriaty, MD and Fr. John Cihak, STD.

  1. We Pray and Meditate
  2. We study (spiritual works, like the scripture)
  3. We pour ourselves out in loving service to others
  4. We evangelize. A Christians talks about his faith — he is not ashamed. A person in AA or another 12 Step recovery program, does 12 Step work.

Many people have said to us that the four signs of a “dynamic Catholic” are also the characteristics of many Christians of all denominations and people in recovery programs such as Alcoholics Anonymous.

Good Samaritan by Walter Rane.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Mitch Albom and Morrie taught me about acceptance, communication, love, values, openness, and happiness.”

  1. daveyone1 Says:

    Reblogged this on World Peace Forum.

Leave a Reply

