Melania Trump: Donald Trump’s words ‘unacceptable and offensive’ — Mike Pence said, “I do not condone his remarks and cannot defend them.”

Photo by Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

WASHINGTON – Melania Trump, the wife of Donald Trump, said Saturday his lewd comments caught on tape were “unacceptable and offensive to me” as the Trump campaign confronts the escalating fallout from the Friday from the surfacing of Trump’s sexually suggestive remarks.

“The words my husband used are unacceptable and offensive to me. This does not represent the man that I know. He has the heart and mind of a leader. I hope people will accept his apology, as I have, and focus on the important issues facing our nation and the world,” she said in a statement.

Meanwhile, Rep. Rodney Davis R-Ill., joined a list of Republican officials who called on Trump to drop out of the race.

“As parents of a teenage daughter and teen twin boys, my wife and I teach them to respect women and that they will be judged by their words and actions. The abhorrent comments made by Donald Trump are inexcusable and go directly against what I’ve been doing in Washington to combat assaults on college campuses. Because of this, I am rescinding my support for Donald Trump and asking to have my name removed from his agriculture advisory committee. With the terrible options America has right now, I cannot cast my vote for any of the candidates, so I hope Donald Trump withdraws from the race so the American people can elect Mike Pence as our next president,” Davis said in a statement.



Lewd Donald Trump Tape Is a Breaking Point for Many in the G.O.P.

WASHINGTON — Donald J. Trump’s campaign was teetering on Saturday after the release of a video in which he speaks of women in vulgar sexual terms, with more Republican leaders calling for him to leave the ticket and demanding that the party shift focus to down-ballot races.

Representative Charles Dent, Republican of Pennsylvania, said on Saturday that the party, which has been helping the Trump campaign financially and organizationally, should no longer “defend the indefensible.” He urged the party to abandon Mr. Trump if he refuses to withdraw and focus solely on electing the rest of the ticket.

“The priority for the Republican Party has to be protecting our congressional majorities,” he said.

In an extraordinary statement from a running mate, Gov. Mike Pence of Indiana indicated that he still supported Mr. Trump, but that he was highly displeased with what he heard on the video.

“As a husband and father, I was offended by the words and actions described by Donald Trump in the 11-year-old video released yesterday,” Mr. Pence said. “I do not condone his remarks and cannot defend them.”


Read the rest:

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Melania Trump: Donald Trump’s words ‘unacceptable and offensive’ — Mike Pence said, “I do not condone his remarks and cannot defend them.””

  1. Nancy Says:

    Reblogged this on "OUR WORLD".

  2. daveyone1 Says:

    Reblogged this on World Peace Forum.

Leave a Reply

